45,217 more houses for urban poor in Telangana

housing scheme

Central Government to provide an assistance of Rs.678 cr

                The Ministry of Housing & Urban Poverty Alleviation today sanctioned 45,217 more houses for houses for urban poor in 19 cities and towns of Telangana under the Prime Minister’s Awas Yojana (Urban) with a total central assistance of 678 cr.

                Though the State Government sent the proposals to the Ministry late on Friday, Minister of HUPA M.Venkaiah Naidu directed the Central Sanctioning and Monitoring Committee in the Ministry to include housing proposals of Telangana on the agenda for the meeting of CSMC today.

                CSMC cleared the proposals after discussion on the detailed presentation made by Shri Dana Kishore, Secretary (Municipal Administration).

                These houses will be built under ‘Affordable Housing in Partnership’ component of PMAY(Urban) for which the central government provides an assistance of Rs.1.50 lakh per house. Land is provided by the state government besides meeting the remaining cost of construction.

                Dana Kishore informed the Committee that this central assistance will be used for the state government’s scheme of providing 2-Bed room houses for urban poor free of cost and the allotteeswill  only be given hereditary rights.

                Houses sanctioned today were : 29,531 for Hyderabad, Karimnagar-1038, Gajwel-1842, Bhongir-324, Janagaon-800, Zaheerabad-400, Bodhan-231,Nagerkurnool-250, Medak-2353, Palvancha-1903, Vikarabad-291, Wanaparthy-592, Nalgonda-405, Siricilla-1680, Achhampet-500, Metpally-1250, Mahaboobabad-800, Nirmal-500 and Armoor-500.

                Ministry of  HUPA earlier sanctioned 10,290 houses for urban poor with central assistance of Rs. 155 cr under AHP for 10 cities of Siddipet, Khammam, Adilabad, Suryapeta, Miryalaguda, Bhainsa, Mahaboobnagar, Nizamabad, Ramagundam and Warangal.

                With today’s sanction, the Ministry of HUPA has so far sanctioned 55,507 houses under PMAY(Urban) for Telangana with a total central assistance of Rs.833 cr.